Russell’s Ramblings

Those who do not hear the music might think the dancer mad

The Lake Norman Business Expo – Our Version of Show and Tell!

Mrs Hope's First Grade Class - Bill Russell, Finley Rd Elementary School

Mrs Hope’s First Grade Class – Bill Russell, Finley Rd Elementary School

Nearly everyone has experienced “Show and Tell” whether it was when you were a student or perhaps assisting your child or relative with their homework.  When I was a student at Finley Road Elementary School in Rock Hill (SC), I was asked to bring something or someone to school that week of significance to me to share with the rest of the class.  I have never been accused of being overly humble, even as a child, and I decided the best person to bring to show off – was me!

As the first-born child, my mother Sarah took great pains to detail every significant event of my childhood.  My baby book was filled with photos, captions detailing the event, locks of hair, and special cards and mementos   I can still recall taking the baby book down from the shelf and stripping many of the photos from the album and creating my own “Show and Tell” project.

That week I shared with my classmates the most significant moments of my life displaying the photos my mother worked so hard to compile.  Not satisfied with mom’s captions, I created new explanations for each photo, with my own creative and adventurous story.

Much to my mother’s chagrin, those photos never made their way back to where they belonged, perhaps strewn across the playground some 46 years ago.  Needless to say, she wasn’t at all happy with me about that.

On Friday, March the 7th, more than 170 of our Chamber members have thePic 1 opportunity to “Show and Tell” at the largest business trade show in the Charlotte market.  Our Lake Norman Business Expo is designed for businesses to tell their unique stories and showcase their business.  If you are an exhibitor, no other venue can give you greater exposure and opportunity than the Expo.  If you are not an exhibitor, please come out and see Business at its Best and support the lake’s retail and service businesses.

By the way, my mother has always had the last word on the “Show and Tell” incident.  At significant family gatherings, mom has reminded my brother and sister why their baby book was not as detailed as theirs.  “It is because how bad your older brother was as a child.  You have Billy to blame,” mom constantly reminds them on this and many other countless examples.

I always respond that I was just breaking her in good for my future siblings.  While my exercise was not what my teacher had in mind, the Lake Norman Business Expo is our business communities’ moment to shine.  I encourage everyone to participate – sharing the event through your social media and word of mouth and I’ll see you at the Expo!

For more information Visit the Lake Norman Chamber website or call the Chamber of Commerce at 704-892-1922.

The Lake Norman Chamber Business Expo will take place at the Davidson College Belk Arena 200 Baker Drive in Davidson, NC 28036 on Friday, March 7th 11 am until 5 pm.  There is no admission charge and the public is invited.

March 5, 2013 - Posted by | Chamber of Commerce | , , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

